Officers and Committee 2002


Vice Presidents






Vice Chairman


Assistant Secretary



Register Committee

Board Delegates

Junior Selectors for Under 21


Junior B Selectors

Minor Selectors


Neilie Twomey

J.J Hinchon, Tim O' Sullivan,

Fr. Tim O'Sullivan, Eugene Lee,

Daniel Moynihan,

Dan O' Sullivan and

Christopher Reynolds.

Tim Joe Lyons

Dan Murphy

Noel Mynihan

Timmie Lyons

Jerry Moynihan

Tom Lehane

Eileen Quinlan

Ted Dunne & Liam Quinlan

Noel Dunne, John Dunlea &

Tom Murphy

Michael Shine, Pat McCarthy &

Martin Lyons

David Healy, John O' Sullivan &

Paddy Murphy

Under Age




Michael Murphy

Eamonn Lyons

Michael Shine

Back To Canovee GAA

Canovee G.A.A. History.

Canovee Gaelic Games, and in particular hurling were played in the Canovee area long before the foundation of the G.A.A. and Canovee had a hurling team of note in the middle of the 19th century.
Football became popular about 1880 and players from Canovee played with the Kilmurry Parish Team, which reached the County Senior Semi Final in 1890 and John Hinchon,
Knockavullig and Con Moynihan of Bawnatemple were selected on the first Cork County Senior team.
The Parish team disbanded in 1893 and a new club called Carrigadrohid Castle Defenders was formed.
In 1896 the club changed its name to St.Johns and had its first success winning the Ryecourt Senior Tournament.
In 1897 St. Johns defeated Dohneys in the County Senior Quarter Final but had the game taken away on a technicality. Dohneys went on to reach the All Ireland Final that year. The sense of injustice was deeply felt and the club went out of existence.
St. Johns came back with a junior team in 1903, and in 1910 a united Parish team was re-established, this time under the Canovee name. This club was the last Parish team and disappeared around the time of the War of Independence.
Later a renewed interest in hurling saw a number of games played between teams from the eastern side "Fair Hill" and western "The Gravediggers". As a result of this the present Canovee Club was formed in 1932 as a hurling and football club.
The famous Kerry player of that the Jackie Ryan was a regular visitor to the area where his sister was postmistress and he coached the local players in football. The club soon became a football club only and the Canovee hurlers began to play with Cloughduv. In 1948 and 1949 Canovee fielded hurling teams and Cloughduv football teams and in 1949 Canovee and Cloughduv met in the Mid-Cork Junior Final. Since then Canovee have played football only and Cloughduv hurling.

Back To Canovee GAA

Roll Of Honour

Senior - Ryecourt tournament winners - 1887
County Semi-finalists - 1953
Kelleher Shield runners up- 1974

Intermediate- County winners - 1973

Junior A. - County winners - 1950&1968
Mid Cork winners - 1939,1943,1946,1947,1948,1949,1950,

Junior B- Mid Cork winners- 1964,1965,1976,1981,1984

Under 21-Mid Cork A- 1970,1977,1998
Mid Cork B-1986, 1989,1996

Minor- Mid Cork A - 1952,2000
Mid Cork B - 1980,1994,1996,1998
County Minor B - 1994,1998

Inter County Players
J.J. Hinchon - Captained Cork to junior All Ireland success in 1951 and played in All Ireland Senior Final v Louth in 1957
Won N.F.L medal in 1952
He was joined on 1957 team by former players Dan Murray and Eric Ryan

Dan O' Sullivan - Played in Munster Senior Finals in 1951 and 1953
Won All Ireland Junior medal in 1955

Johnny Finnegan, Dan Finnegan, Mick Helighan, Johnny Dunlea and pat Dunlea all won All Ireland Junior medals with Cork

Connie Kelly won Munster Senior medal in 1971
John Moynihan won Munster Minor in 1983

Pitch in Carrigadrohid purchased in 1982 and opened in 1987
Cost £120,000. Funded mainly y weekly £1 draws

In 1948 the Senior County Championship Semi-final between St.Finbarrs and Hillstreet was played in Lehanes Inch in Carrigadrohid

Back To Canovee GAA

This Page is under Construction, please call again.

Top of Page